Sunday, June 30, 2013

Saturday, June 29, 2013

Follow the Path.........

I can only imagine where you would end up when you follow this path.

Friday, June 28, 2013

Funny Flowers

I don't know what they are, but I liked them anyway.

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Monday Morning Washday

Can you remember when mom washed clothes in a tub like this?  Of course, the flowers would have been an added attraction.

Monday, June 17, 2013

The Guiding Light

The Presque Isle Light house is located on a strip of land along Lake Huron between Alpena and Rogers City in Michigan.  Built in 1870, it is 113 feet above the limestone foundation.  The light keeper's cottage is at the base and now serves as a museum.  The lighthouse was automated in 1970 and is still in service.

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Happy Father's Day

We all need an anchor in our life.  Today we honor our earthly father and our heavenly father.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Be Prepared!


Winters in northern Michigan are long and cold.  Here we see a stack of wood to to be cut and used for heat next winter.  

Sunday, June 9, 2013

Ocqueoc Falls

Don't ask me how to pronounce the name of this water falls.  It is a cool spot to stop and listen to the water falling over the rocks and enjoy nature. 

Friday, June 7, 2013

Great Lakes Shipping

A freighter on the Great Lakes being loaded with limestone, from one of the largest limestone quarry in the world.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse

In 1957 when the Mackinac bridge opened, navigators started using the lights on the bridge to guide their ships through the straights.  The lighthouse was retired and the land around it was turned into a public park.  It has been restored and is open for tours.  

Monday, June 3, 2013

The Mighty Mac


Opened in 1957 the Mackinaw Bridge connects the Upper and Lower Peninsula of Michigan and Lake Huron with Lake Michigan.

Saturday, June 1, 2013

Valley of Trillium

We made the most wonderful discovery last weekend.  We found the Tunnel of Trees (M-119) and we were fortunate to see about 17 miles of Trillium in bloom.  Not only were they beautiful to look at - they smelled wonderful.  I have never seen such a massive display of wildflowers.